Health and Social Care

Subject Health and Social Care

Qualification BTEC


This course prepares you for work in an area which provides varied opportunities for you to make a difference to people’s lives in a positive way. It can lead to a Level 3 course, either here in the Sixth Form or at college.

The Health and Social Care course is a vocational qualification but it also has a number of academic demands.

Course Content

There are four compulsory units which are worth five points each and four specialist units which are worth ten points each.

The compulsory units are covered are:

  • Individual needs in health and social care;
  • Communication in health and social care;
  • Individual rights in health and social care;
  • Ensuring safe environments in health and social care.